Established in 1980, Komodo National Park covers approximately 670 square miles and includes three larger islands (Komodo, Rinca, and Padar) as well as 26 smaller islands. It was designated as a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1991 and a Marine Protected Area in 2000. The remarkably high diversity of marine life within the Park accounts for its popularity as a diving location. Komodo Island is particularly notable as the habitat of the Komodo dragon, the largest lizard on Earth. We visited this unique destination in 2008, diving at Komodo and Rinca islands with Kararu Divers on the Cheng Ho.